Email help  >  Stop leaving email on the server

This page will help you setup your email program so that it DOES NOT leave a copy of your messages on the server. This tutorial assumes that you are configured to retrieve your email using the POP3 protocol and that it is currently configured to leave copies of the messages on the server, instead of deleting them from the server.

If you have already let your mailbox get full, then you'll need to login to Webmail to delete them all from the server. Access webmail using www.your domain.com.au/webmail (Replace 'your domain' with your actual domain)


Windows Live Mail:

  1. Right-click the name of the account from the left hand side list of accounts and folders, and choose ‘properties’.
  2. in the box that appears, click the ‘Advanced’ tab
  3. Untick the option called “Leave a copy of messages on the server”
  4. Click OK.

Outlook Express, Outlook 2000:

  1. Go to the Tools menu and choose Accounts,
  2. double-click on your email account's name,
  3. go to the Advanced tab,
  4. Untick the box at the bottom that says Leave a copy of messages on the server, or check the box that says "remove from server after ... days" and specify a short enough amount of days, for example 5, and also check the last box "remove from server when deleted".
  5. Click OK,
  6. Click Close

Outlook 2003

  1. Go to the Tools menu, choose Email accounts, select View or change existing email accounts and click Next,
  2. Double-click on the name of your email account,
  3. Click on the More settings button,
  4. Go to the Advanced tab,
  5. Untick the box at the bottom that says Leave copy of messages on the server, or check the box that says "remove from server after ... days" and specify a short enough amount of days, for example 5, and also check the last box "remove from server when deleted",
  6. Click OK, Next and Finish

Outlook 2010

Outlook 2010 is strange, in that it automatically creates new email accounts as IMAP accounts instead of POP3. The IMAP setting keeps all the mail on the server with no option to delete from server. When you go to delete them manually at the server via webmail (which you will have to do every few weeks if you use IMAP to prevent your mailbox from filling up), it deletes them from your computer's Outlook inbox, too. Not very smart Microsoft!

If you have your email account set up as pop3, here is how to set it to remove them from the server after downloading:

  1. Click file
  2. Click account settings button then second account settings button that appears when you click the first one
  3. Double click the account to edit
  4. In the window that appears, click 'more settings'
  5. Click advanced tab
  6. Untick "Leave a copy of messages on the server'.

If you don't have that option, (ie. your account is set to use IMAP) then you will need to delete the account and re-add it using manual settings to specify POP3, because it doesnt let you change the account from IMAP to pop3. Here is how to do that:

  1. Click file
  2. Click account settings button then second account settings button that appears when you click the first one
  3. Click the account to remove and click the remove button.

And to Add it again using POP3:

  1. Click File tab
  2. Click add account
  3. In the window that appears, enter your name and email address and email account password, then tick "Manually configure server settings or additional server types"
  4. Click next
  5. Make sure "Internet Email" is chosen, then click next
  6. In this next window, enter your incoming server, which is mail.yourdomain.com.au (replace"yourdomain.com.au" with whatever yours is.)
  7. Outgoing mail server (SMTP) - this needs to be your ISP's setting, eg. if you connect with Bigpond, then it will be mail.bigpond.com
  8. LOGON INFORMATION: User Name is your full email address, and password is the password you chose or we supplied you with.
  9. Do not click "Require logon using Secure Password Authentication. This must remain un ticked
  10. Click more settings button
  11. Click Advanced tab
  12. Untick "Leave a copy of messages on the server", or if you need to download your email from 2 different computers or devices, have at least one of them remove the messages from the server (eg. the computer/device you use the most for email) so that the messages won't build up and fill your mailbox)
  13. Click next
  14. It will test your account, then click close
  15. Click finish.

Mozilla Thunderbird

  1. Click on the Tools menu, choose Account Settings,
  2. Go to the Server Settings category on the left side, under your email account,
  3. Untick the box that says Leave messages on server, or check the box that says "for at most ... days " and specify a short enough amount of days, for example 5, and check the other box ("until I delete or move them from inbox")
  4. Click OK to confirm

Eudora 6

  1. Click on the Tools menu and choose Options,
  2. Select the category called Incoming Mail from the left panel,
  3. Untick the box on the right side called Leave mail on server, or adjust the boxes underneath to only leave a short amount of days worth of mail on the server (for example, 5 days),
  4. Click OK to confirm

Entourage for Mac

  1. Click on the Tools menu and choose Accounts,
  2. Double-click on the name of your email account and go to the Options tab,
  3. Under Server Options, Untick the box that says Leave a copy of each message on the server, and the other boxes as needed,
  4. Click OK to confirm

Apple Mail for Mac OS X

  1. Click on the Mail menu and choose Preferences,
  2. Click on the Accounts icon, and select your email account on the left side,
  3. Go to the tab called Advanced, and CHECK THE CHECKBOX CALLED Remove copy from server after retrieving a message:
    • if that checkbox is Unticked, then all your messages will always stay on the server (and you will fill up your quota quickly)
    • if that checkbox is checked, then the messages will only stay on the server as long as specified in the drop-down box underneath (recommended: less than 5 days)
    • if that checkbox is checked and the drop-down box is set to Right Away, then your account will behave as a regular POP3 account (the messages will be downloaded to your computer and then removed from the server right away - highly recommended)

      Note: This is only for POP not IMAP
  4. Click OK to confirm
© 2001 - 2017 Media Two Pty Ltd.